Tracy Arm vs. Glacier Bay

floridacruisers

While I have never been, our TA strongly recommended Glacier Bay over Tracy Arm. I also have seen overwhelming support for this recommendation here on the forum. From what I have read, ships are more frequently unable to make it to Tracy Arm due to weather conditions.

Sounds like you made the right call the first time choosing Glacier Bay, but just didn't get lucky.

I can't say I am an expert because I had only been to each place once but my opinion might be different from the mainstream. Both places were magnificent but for different reasons. Of course alot has to do with the weather you have but here is what I thought.

Tracy Arm - The fjord itself is breathtaking. I felt the scenry is spectacular and the cliffs and mountains are right in front of you. Made for a very dramatic transit of the fjord. We did get to within sight of South Sawyer Glacier and this was early June but still we were too far away. Since that was my first glacier up "close" I was dissapointed. But the fjord was spectacular.

Glacier Bay - I went on a cloudy rainy day but it was still spectacular. I could see the size of it all is just incredible but scenery is much farther away and to me less dramatic though there was one area that we pulled into that was breathtaking. Also coming around to see Marjorie Glacier up close to see how enormous this glacier is was also breathtaking.

So in my trips to each I felt Glacier Bay was nice but it only had a couple areas that I felt took my breath away. The entire transit of Tracy Arm I felt was stunning but of course the glacier was not so stunning being so far away.